Who stole the cookie from the cookie jar?

Sometimes you can talk to people and all you hear is blah blah blah, you do not even register that they are speaking.

If people are talking about things you don’t want to hear, you have the ability to tune out, the ability to hear only silence.

 

Why is this not the case when the infamous tea room cookie jar speaks? I hear it. I cannot block it out. It says crazy things to me. It is so overpowering that it drowns out the general chit chat of the tearoom.

 

“Here, here I am, come on and eat me”

“You sweated so much at the gym last night, it won’t even hit the sides,  you can have one…(or four.)”

 “Your pants are looser, one won’t hurt.”

“Dunk it you tea and it doesn’t even count as calories”

“Look how many the lady beside you ate, her pig out is nothing compared to the 1 or 2 you will have”

“Quick, shove it in real quickly before the universe can register you did it.”

 

I hear it all. That damn cookie jar messes with my mind; messes with my whole damn mind.

 

The problem is, subconsciously I have already committed to 5 cookies before I even eat one.  I mean, the forefront of my mind would say “Just 1 won’t hurt you”…but deep down I know if I have 1, that my mind has already committed to 5…and if I commit to 5, I must eat all 5.

 

I don’t know where this thought process of ours comes from when it comes to food. All or nothing maybe? But then, I don’t know about you, but history shows I do not have that same all or nothing commitment if it comes to churning out 5kms on the treadmill…I often stop at 3. I do not feel the same desire to achieve completion.

 

It is much easier to finish the 5 cookies, than to finish 5kms…but then there is my catch 22 I guess? Those ‘easy’ cookies are going to make running life just that little bit harder. This battle of perspective isn’t always a battle won, but after spending my ten minute tea break blurting out my mind processes in this entry, it has kept my chubby little checker fingers out of that cookie jar.

 

That’s a win!

 

Now the goal is to try hard tomorrow to stay away from a sneaky Arnott…or 5 :-/

Wish me well.

One thought on “Who stole the cookie from the cookie jar?

Leave a comment